Monday, March 24, 2008

SCAM: Attention Nielsen, Chris: This is your Website Copyright Registration Notice

 
-----Original Message-----
From: US Copyright Registry [mailto:support@uscopyrightregistry.com]
Sent: Monday, March 24, 2008 10:22 AM
Subject: Attention Nielsen, Chris: This is your Website Copyright Registration Notice

US Copyright Registry
244 Fifth Ave, Suite #2279
New York, NY 10001-7604
www.USCopyrightRegistry.com
support@USCopyrightRegistry.com
Toll Free: 1-800-634-5760

WEBSITE COPYRIGHT LICENSING NOTICE
ATT: Nielsen, Chris

ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT

Address: 7141 Oak Pointe Curve
Bloomington 55438
www.MINNEAPOLIS-WATCHDOG.COM
Notice Tracking Number: CR493121

Please be advised that the above noted website has not been protected and is now available for copyright registration

IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNITED STATES COPYRIGHT LAW

TITLE 92, Sec. 107 to 122, the owner of copyright under this title has the exclusive rights to do and to authorize any of the following: Rights of attribution and integrity: the author shall have the right to claim authorship of that work, and prevent the use of his or her name as the author of any work which he or she did not create.

Be advised: Protecting a website is the responsibility of the owner of the website and must be registered through the United States Patent and Trademark office to legally prevent others from infringing on the owners rights and copying a website. It is the responsibility of the website owner to complete registration to protect their intellectual property and bring suit in federal court for infringement and obtain statutory damages up to $150,000.

Domain name and trademark registration does not register your website for copyright registration and it is the responsibility of the website owner to register with the United States Patent and Trademark Office to complete registration Anyone who violates any of the exclusive rights of the website owners registered copyright as provided by sections 106 through 122 who infringes on the copyright registration may sued in federal court for infringement and obtain injunctions on such terms as it may be reasonable to prevent or restrain infringement. In the event of infringement, the infringer is liable for:

The website owners actual damages and any additional profits of the infringer, as provided by subsection (b); or statutory damages, as provided by subsection (c).

(b) Actual Damages And Profits. – The website owner of copyright is entitled to recover the actual damages suffered by him or her as a result of the infringement, and any profits of the infringer that are attributable to the infringement and are not taken into account in computing the actual damages. In establishing the infringer's profits, the website owner of copyright is required to present proof only of the infringer's gross revenue , and the infringer is required to prove his or her deductible expenses and the elements of profit attributable to factors other than the copyrighted work.

© Statutory Damages. – Except oas provided by clause, the website owner of the copyright may elect, at any time before final judgement is rendered, to recover, instead of actual damages and profits, an award of statutory damages for all infringements involved in the action, with respect to any one work, for which any one infringer is liable individually. registration by a third party, the UDRP may be applied under the following conditions.

You are required to advise the US Copyright Registry of your intent to license this website if registration is administered through the UCR as this is your final notice.

Note: you may disregard this notice. If you disregard this notice or fail to reply:
UCR and the United States Patent and Trademark office will NOT be liable for infringement of your website, interruption of business activity or business losses.


PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

If you fail to reply to this notice this website will NOT be registered through UCR to the United States Patent and Trademark Office. You must advise us of your intent to secure your website in order for registration to be completed through UCR.


Call 1-800-634-5760
Notice Tracking Number: 49
4121

The information in this letter contains confidential and/or legally privileged information from the notification processing department of the UCR. This information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) named above. Email support@USCopyrightRegistry.com if you do not want to receive further updates from UCR. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that disclosure, copying, distribution or the taking of any action in reliance on the contents for this letter is strictly prohibited.
 
 

Friday, March 21, 2008

I've visited your website...

There's no scam like an old scam. I was almost taken in by this message I received yesterday, but like most scams they almost always do something stupid to tip you off. In this case it was the part about paying me $4,800 a month. That might work for a site that is getting millions of visitors a month, because they will already be making some money, but for smaller sites, it's stupid. If they had said $48 I might have tried it. $480 would have me wondering, but $4,800 is like those Nigerian emails about getting millions. Then I hear that to tap in this money you have to PAY THEM? Yeah, right you morons.

----Original Message-----
From: tmanmarketing@yahoo.com [
mailto:tmanmarketing@yahoo.com]
Sent: Thursday, March 20, 2008 10:28 PM
Subject: I've visited your website
http://www.bizprolink-internet.com/0702/070209-3.htm

Hi,

We've seen your website at
http://www.bizprolink-internet.com/0702/070209-3.htm
and we love it!

We see that your traffic rank is 176710
and your link popularity is 54.
Also, you have been online since 2/3/2004.

With that kind of traffic, we will pay you up to $4,800/month
to advertise our links on your website.

If you're interested, read our terms from this page:
http://www.contactthem.ws/hit.php?s=160&p=2&w=666666

Sincerely,

Tom  VanBuren
The ContactThem Network
616-886-1549


Hi Tom VanBuren,

Thanks, but I have already used up my monthly budget on scams and rip-offs this month. I can put you on a waiting list for next month though, let me know if the offer will still be good and I'll be sure to get back to you. Say, do you have an affiliate program? I have a number of contacts in Nigeria and Romainia that I would love to send your way... so you could Contact Them.

P.S. Say, are you any friend of Stephan Ducharme?

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

More US Domain Name Copyright Registry Scams

I just got email from another Registry company using spam to offer a Copyright Registry service designed to scare domain and web site owners. If you want to register for a copyright at a Copyright Registry in the US, don't use any US Copyright service that sends you spam or unsolicited commercial email. You can go to the US Copyright government Registry site and do it yourself, or search in Google for an honest Copyright Registry company that can provide the service. But you should be aware that all published works are already covered by a US Copyright. This is not something you have to pay extra for:

Monday, March 03, 2008

Liberty Names: The Freedom To Pay More

Never Pay More Than $10 A Year For Domain Registration!

I just got another letter from Liberty Names and I felt like I needed to post a message about them in case people are checking them out and want to know why they should NOT return the letter and go with them. There are two reasons:

1) They send you what LOOKS LIKE an invoice and if you don't read it carefully, you could think it's just a domain registration renewal notice. After all at the top right of the letter it says in large letters: "Domain Name Expiration Notice".

To their credit, they do say that this is a TRANSFER that you would be doing, but they also say things that are confusing and not clear or the entire story. In short, while not outright lies, they are not the full truth either. Rather than sending a nice sales letter with information about their company and why you should transfer to them, they choose to mislead and create fear, uncertainty, and doubt.

2) The fee for renewal/transfers is $29, they they offer NOTHING in my opinion to justify this outrageous fee. When I first registered a domain many years ago, I did have to pay Network Solutions $35 a year. Then I discovered DirectNIC.com and only had to pay $15 a year for the same services. For the past 3 years I have only been paying between $7 and $10 a year and if you are paying more than that you are being ripped-off, or have a special kind of domain that is more expensive. Their fee is at least THREE TIMES AS EXPENSIVE AS MOST OTHER REGISTRARS.


Liberty Names of America Inc. or Lnoa Inc.
1623 Military Rd PMB663
Niagara Falls, NY 14304
www.libertynamesofamerica.com
www.lnoa.com